• IS THIS SITE UGLY? Click "RG3" at the very bottom-left of this page to change it. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->
Resource icon

Guide - Several things I learned as a newbie recently.

RedCents
834¢
Hi I'm a newbie sharing some tips. I started on MQ a few months ago and there was much to learn. MQ2 mostly just works by itself but some stuff you gotta figure out as you go. Luckily there is already an answer to everything on this forum, but if it helps other newbies like me save some time, I am gonna post the few questions I had and the answer.

Prerequisite:
Use EQBC, it makes everything so much better! You turn it on in your ini files for each character in the part that says EQBCOn=1
1 is on and 0 is off for a lot of things in these ini files. With this you can have your characters talk to each other, tell you important stuff, and you give them commands from any character. I use it all the time.
2019 edit: There is a new alternative to this now called MQ2DanNet which is newer faster better sexier. The commands are slightly different. This guide was written with EQBC commands, so you can change those if you use DanNet instead.

Search inside a page:
You can search the forum for answers with the search box at the top. But if you want to find something on a big page like this, press CTRL F and you can search for a word or phrase on that page and it will jump right to it. Once you start editing your character ini files, you will probably use this a lot. Say you added a new spell called Flaming Bolt and the character isn't casting it. You can just open your ini and do CTRL F for Flaming and it will jump right back to that part so you can fix it.

What is MQ2 and KISS and how do I use it?
MacroQuest2 is like the machinery in the background that makes everything work.
KissAssist (KA) is like the driver of the machine, it is the front interface that lets you set things up easily and make characters play by themselves.