• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Click "RG3" at the very bottom-left of this page to change it. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->
Resource icon

Lua - Generate Zone Data (1 Viewer) 1.0

Sic

[sic]
Moderator
Joined
May 5, 2016
RedCents
33,964¢
I approved this resource, however, since the data is static, it is probably more useful as just a straight file than as a lua to generate it.

we have zones.ini in the resources folder, which has long name and shortname, it does not have zone IDs because it is an old ini, and not something like yaml or something more oriented towards more than key value pairs.

regardless,

thanks for sharing with folks roun!
 

brainiac

Moderator
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
RedCents
8,311¢
INI:
local skipZoneIds = { Z184=true, Z185=true, Z190=true, Z837=true, Z838=true, Z839=true, Z840=true, Z841=true, Z842=true,  }

curious why the 'Z' prefix
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2020
RedCents
3,870¢
I approved this resource, however, since the data is static, it is probably more useful as just a straight file than as a lua to generate it.

we have zones.ini in the resources folder, which has long name and shortname, it does not have zone IDs because it is an old ini, and not something like yaml or something more oriented towards more than key value pairs.

regardless,

thanks for sharing with folks roun!

Thanks for approving. I did consider whether to just toss the code out, but since I also thought there could be maintenance down the road, went the resource route.

I was specifically after the zone ids (for another lua script).
 

Redbot

🖥️💖
Moderator
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
RedCents
76,773¢
If you were to run this on a TLP server that's on an early expansion, would it give the same results as a live server?
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2020
RedCents
3,870¢
If you were to run this on a TLP server that's on an early expansion, would it give the same results as a live server?

As long as mq.TLO.Zone returns info for that zone, yes. It skips anything that returns nil, a name of 'Not Found', or the character select zones.
 
Last edited:

Redbot

🖥️💖
Moderator
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
RedCents
76,773¢
I guess my question is more about servers than your script, do all live servers return the same Zone info? If an xpac isn't released yet on a server, can you still get info for its zones?

I'd test but then I'm breaking my own rules, and I don't currently have a gold account 😋
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2020
RedCents
3,870¢
If the zone structure included the expansion of the zone, I'd add a filter based on whether the running character has the expansion available to them. Maybe add a starting param: 'all', 'available', and possibly a specific expansion (e.g., 'Rain of Fear', '<Rain of Fear', 'Rain of Fear>').
 

brainiac

Moderator
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
RedCents
8,311¢
I asked about it because it is an unnecessary inclusion in the code. I know that Z means zone, and telling me that does not tell me why it was put into the code.
 

brainiac

Moderator
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
RedCents
8,311¢
Zone flags aren't really documented, and i don't think there is anything useful for you there anyways. We have expansion but its not exposed.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top