• IS THIS SITE UGLY? Click "RG3" at the very bottom-left of this page to change it. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

Tech - Crashing in guild hall when mq2 running

Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Likes
7
RedCents
169¢
#1
ok weird bug ill crash in GH if mq2 is open before i log in if i log in and start it after im fine.

i tried deleting any GH files and resistalling no good still does it..
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Likes
56
RedCents
320¢
#2
I gave up on fixing that. No matter what I do it comes back. Best to /unload if you are zoning to the guild hall and refresh or reload mq2 when you get to where you're going. Reinstalling will fix it for a couple of days.
 

Redbot

lvl 69 Rouge
Moderator
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Likes
408
RedCents
37,542¢
#3
Do either of you have Windows compatibility settings activated on mq2 or EQ? It's been known to cause problems.

Also backing up your current eqclient.ini, removing it, and letting EQ create a new one has helped some people.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Likes
56
RedCents
320¢
#4
I do not and that just reminded me that I saw and event log saying something about that. Are there any recommendations?
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Likes
7
RedCents
169¢
#5
its wierd i have 2 characters in same guild one crashes one doesn't they are on same account..
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Likes
2
RedCents
23¢
#6
I have the same issue, enter or exiting GH i completely crash out of EQ, i went as far to reinstall a fresh copy of Win10, lets see if i still have the issue.....cringe
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Likes
2
RedCents
23¢
#7
Do either of you have Windows compatibility settings activated on mq2 or EQ? It's been known to cause problems.

Also backing up your current eqclient.ini, removing it, and letting EQ create a new one has helped some people.
Ive tried with it on and off, same thing, crashes out.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Likes
2
RedCents
23¢
#8
Also, it will crash during login or zoning at times but by far the worst is dealing with the GH.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Likes
2
RedCents
23¢
#9
And no issues if i run EQ without MQ2. only with using MQ2 do the issues happen, like i said i just reinstalled win10 and MQ2 and making sure every driver is up to date etc and try again, oddly i never had this issue running win7, only after switching to win10 did this pop up.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2016
Likes
7
RedCents
53¢
#10
I gave up on fixing that. No matter what I do it comes back. Best to /unload if you are zoning to the guild hall and refresh or reload mq2 when you get to where you're going. Reinstalling will fix it for a couple of days.
Still Crash after /unload!
 

Redbot

lvl 69 Rouge
Moderator
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Likes
408
RedCents
37,542¢
#11
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Likes
56
RedCents
320¢
#12
Still Crash after /unload!
Try looking at your eqcrash data. Open eq folder with explorer, type txt in the search, and sort by date modified. Should see several documents that could give you a hint. Check ui errors, dbg and download info text documents for errors. Then open up you user/ower file and look for logs under AppData, local, daybreak game company, application updater and while our at the local window check Crash dumps for eq stuff. Now Right click your start button hit run temp and %temp%. Can't remember which one i found a crash log in. I open them in notepad and notepad++. I had to read a lot of crap... I ran this script in the end. https://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/scriptcenter/Reset-Windows-Update-Agent-d824badc#content It will.....
1.Opens the system protection.2. Resets the Windows Update Components.echo. 3. Deletes the temporary files in Windows. 4. Opens the Internet Explorer options..5. Runs Chkdsk on the Windows partition.6. Runs the System File Checker tool. 7. Scans the image for component store corruption.8. Checks whether the image has been flagged as corrupted.9. Performs repair operations automatically. 10. Cleans up the superseded components.11. Deletes any incorrect registry values.12. Repairs/Resets Winsock settings.13. Force Group Policy Update. 14. Searches Windows updates.15. Explores other local solutions.16. Explores other online solutions.17. Downloads the Diagnostic Tools.18. Restarts your PC.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2013
Likes
40
RedCents
177¢
#13
Curiosity question those crashing with the gh, are those guild halls restricted as to who can enter or are they open to all?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Likes
2
RedCents
23¢
#15
Along with strait up crashes to desktop i have also gotten a crash with a "inject failure error" pop up as well, not every time but i have had that happen also, it's a real mess, i have reinstalled win10, reinstalled mq2, updated every driver, tried playing with plug ins, messed with guild hall settings, changed resolutions, pretty much everything i could think of and that others have suggested with no effect, if i run EQ without mq2 there is zero crashes, and i have had crashes from just zoning but the major crashes always seem to be from entering the guild hall be it from in game or logging into the game if i logged out in the guild hall. it's a real pain in the butt lol i will keep at it until it's fixed :) thank you for all those that have helped :)
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Likes
56
RedCents
320¢
#16
Along with strait up crashes to desktop i have also gotten a crash with a "inject failure error" pop up as well, not every time but i have had that happen also, it's a real mess, i have reinstalled win10, reinstalled mq2, updated every driver, tried playing with plug ins, messed with guild hall settings, changed resolutions, pretty much everything i could think of and that others have suggested with no effect, if i run EQ without mq2 there is zero crashes, and i have had crashes from just zoning but the major crashes always seem to be from entering the guild hall be it from in game or logging into the game if i logged out in the guild hall. it's a real pain in the butt lol i will keep at it until it's fixed :) thank you for all those that have helped :)
run that script for power shell. https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powershell/ is what i used to figure it out. C:\WINDOWS\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0 run powershell_ise.exe as admi
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Likes
7
RedCents
169¢
#17
i found a fix for this copy or drag you mq2 file to a new folder download a new mq2 setup drag and drop your cutom macros and setups to the new folder and copy your nav files delete your guild hall related files in nav as well as in eq.

after you copied all the custom files you can either delete the old mq2 file or save it as a backup run the new mq2 setup with the new reinstalled mq2 also delete mq2slave file

you should be good to go make sure your new exe icon points to the new mq2 setup
 
Top