• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Change the look. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->
  • Unfortunately, yes, there is a suspension wave happening around the new tlp launch. :'( Please keep regular discussion to Suspension MegaThread and please consider submitting a Suspension report to RG.

Question - Trying to do some capabilities research prior to buying in. (1 Viewer)

unknown0021

RedCents
Newbie here and had a question. Did some looking around on any of the post I had access to as Level 1 but did not have any luck. Was thinking of playing me some EQ1 again and came across this site. I would like to know if it is possible to have a Mage Pet as main tank when macroing. Haven't used any MQ2 before so its all kinda new to me.

Thanks in advance.

You can have Mage pet as a tank when macroing, but you will have to be at the keyboard for this setup. I have heard rumors that there will be a build soon that allows full AFK Mage pet tanks.

I just use a Merc tank on my team when I want to go full AFK for level/AA grind. When a named spawns or I want to try something hard I pull out the Mage pet and take control for a few mins. All I have to do when the mage pet tanks is time when to press pet attack and keep the mob away from the group. The mage is still running a macro. Basically you just need to make sure the pull goes well.

If you decide to try Mage pet tank let me know, because I have some tips to make it go better. Just removing a few lines of code from kissassist.

A merc tank will do just fine with good heals all the way up to RoF T2. Beyond RoF T2 you will need a good player tank or your Mage pet for named.

Thanks info is much appreciated. Will definitely reach out if i decide to try out the mage pet tank. One more question any idea how effective a mage ranger duo with the pair of mercs may be?

Thanks again.