• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Change the look. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->
  • Unfortunately, yes, there is a suspension wave happening around the new tlp launch. :'( Please keep regular discussion to Suspension MegaThread and please consider submitting a Suspension report to RG.

Discussion - Trip down memory lane... (1 Viewer)

Forza

RedCents
21¢
Wow! I can't believe that I started playing EverQuest before I started high school. I remember the first time I ever decided to cheat in EQ and RedGuides was the monstrosity of cheat sites during those days, with exploits and plugins being posted daily to the public scene. I remember I learned how to find offsets in MQ2DoCrack (after much learning) and felt so happy with myself. Looking back, that was the most ridiculously simple thing you can possibly do. I really wanted to learn how to make cheats but didn't have much interest in programming anything else so never got very far. Pretty sad when you're making plugins but don't even know what a typecast or an array is. Shortly after I posted my first plugin, MQ2Grav (basic gravity plugin, roughly 20 lines of code if I remember correctly), I got an opportunity to work at MQ2Source which sucked but, hey, I figured I would learn a little bit. I remember the days of ghost kill and no delay - definitely some fun times.