• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Change the look. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

Req for Help re: MQ2 (1 Viewer)

jshriddle

RedCents
20¢
First off, I'm an admitted newb and am very grateful for Red Guides (partly because I'm a newb, and partly because I don't have 22 hours per day to play and properly level my toon).

Okay, so I read the Newbie Handbook (great handbook, btw) and the MQ Documentation. I d/loaded MQ and installed it on my computer. I double-clicked the shield icon and found the auth code. But then I read in the Newbie Handbook thread that I could use Soultaker's compiling thread, that I didn't need to compile, but just d/load, extract, and run. So I did that with his release.zip listed in that thread.

With EQ off, I double-click the .exe file and run EQ. When I get inside EQ and type /who, nothing happens except bringing up the names of toons in-zone. So I've obviously done something wrong, and being a complete moron about these things (which is why I joined Red Guides), I was hoping someone might help me out and let me know what I've done wrong. All I want to do is get MQ2 on my comp running so I can run simple tradeskill macros in some out-of-the-way town.

Thanks again for any assistance.

Also, the reason nothing happened is because you previously clicked the shield icon in the empty folder, and when you clicked the percompile's .exe...it was still running the empty one.