• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Change the look. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

Toast - My first successful macro! So stoked (1 Viewer)

RedCents
1,287¢
I've been playing EQ on and off for 20 years, with only *very* basic usage of MQ2. I figured being a programmer for over a decade, maybe I should try writing my first macro to automate an extremely tedious endeavor.

After about 100 lines of code, constantly scouring the scattered documentation, I tested it out for a few minutes, and voila, worked like a charm. That feeling is just unreal, it's like unlocking a massive hidden power.

Writing the script in the MQ language was not the best experience. No syntax error highlighting, no compile time warnings/errors, etc, awkward syntax, missing tons of language features that I've been spoiled with, no method discovery. It did have this fun nostalgic feel to creating it though, and the final vision of seeing my character accomplish the task felt amazing.
It makes me regret not writing more macros for all these years, but I figured better now than never. I look forward to writing more scripts to automate stuff, I just need to figure out what is worth the effort.

what did your macro do? not asking you to share it, just curious what level of tedium finally convinced you to assert your dominance.

nice man...I dont have brains for it (went to law school) so i think you guys rock in making EQ more fun with those macros for us

@timmy It was a macro to automate some chars to complete/farm an instance. Nothing too impressive, but did require some clever "hacks" to get it to work correctly within a reasonable amount of time, and to be stable.