• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Change the look. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

Hardware Advice.... (1 Viewer)

Creed

RedCents
I've decided to build my own computer. I've need a new one for quite some time...so i'm finally ready to take the plunge.

I don't want to buy a pre-config because i want to go through the fun learning process of doing it myself...not really because of price differences or anything...i've just always wanted to build my own.

So...with that...i'm a complete newbie at this...all i really know about is the harddrives and processor...and i've already got those picked out.

Processor: BX80557E6400 Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Conroe 2.13GHz 2M sharing L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor
main drive: WD1500ADFD Western Digital 150Gb SATA, 1.5 Gb/s, 16 Mb Cache, 10000 RPM
Storage drive: WD3200YS Western Digital 320 GB SATA, 3.0 Gb/s, 16 MB Cache, 7200 RPM

this leaves me with
Floppy Drive: (6/12/18 something or other in 1 media device is what i'm thinking here)
CD/DVD Drive: not much of an idea here...i do know that i want two drives...and i want to beable to burn cd's and dvd's quickly...
Memory: 2 gb...don't know of what though...
Power Supply:no clue here
Video Card:...i'm a web designer and graphics designer...and a few games every now and then
Case: no clue
Motherboard: no clue...

ok...so a bit about what i want:

I'm a graphics/web designer...so i need something that can handle macromedia suite, photoshop, and other programs like those. I also like to play a good game now and again. I want it to be fast...which i why i want the hardrives and processor i have listed...but not sure about if the ram plays a big part in that either...i'm guessing 2gig would be good for that over 1gig...but i don't know if i should go with normal ram or some sort of performance ram.