• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Change the look. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

How to get started (1 Viewer)

x333

RedCents
Although I'm still a newbie to these forums, I haven't seen a good guide on how to get started with packet sniffing. I have a modest grasp of programming but don't have much knowledge of network technology. Would anyone care to give a newbie who is willing to learn a push in the right direction? I'm not asking for source or hand holding but just where to begin would be nice.

Thanks,

I know zero about packet sniffing, but a word of caution. It appears there has been a good bit of banning recently. I would start by spending some time reading the boards. Folks are saying in different places to be cautious w/playing with packets. Just a heads up.

Thanks for the warning. This is why I ask because I'm not sure what I might get myself into. Packet sniffing is inobtrusive though so there isn't any problems with it but to generate the type of traffic I want to sniff could get me in a fair bit of trouble.

There is nothing wrong with packet sniffing. All packet sniffing is, is looking at the data coming into your PC via your network card (you select which interface inside of the packet analyzer software). SOE has no way of seeing you doing this, unless you modify outbound packets, which is a completely and totally different thing in itself.

If you are interested in getting started, check out Wireshark,its the packet sniffer (Protocol Analyzer is the more professional term) that I prefer.

Rich (BB code):
http://www.wireshark.org/

Be advised, it will look very weird, because the contents of packets aren't usually human readable. Try logging outbound packets while talking on some kind of instant messenger to test things out.