• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • Unfortunately, yes, there is a suspension wave happening around the new tlp launch. :'( Please keep regular discussion to Suspension MegaThread and please consider submitting a Suspension report to RG.

Discussion - Boxing a class you don't play? (2 Viewers)

RedCents
1,005¢
As I am expanding my box group I find myself adding classes I have never played before.

In the early days I played just my wood elf druid. When I came back to the game I started playing Magician as I really liked the idea of a pet class.

As I decided I needed to box to achieve my goals I added a rogue specifically for the lockpicking ability to help my mage get his epic.
Then I expanded the group to a shaman for heals as I didn't have one in the group and didn't want to rely on a merc for heals.

I have never fully driven the shaman or the rogue, I have used RGMercs to run them 99% of the time. The only time I have ever driven the rogue was to build lockpicking skill and then to get my mage into where he needed for an epic item.
After completing the mage epic I shifted gears and created a shadow knight so the group had a full tank replacing my mage. The shadow knight was new to me but I picked it up really quickly, still having no idea how to play rogue or the shaman.

I'm now adding a bard, again using rgmercs to control him and never driving manually, I spend almost all my time driving the SK to pull mobs and travel.

Do others also have classes they are unfamiliar with in their group?

Most of us have classes that we are unfamiliar with because we continue to use amazing plugins put out by the CWTN team @ChatWithThisName and @Sic particularly. Of the classes I box, I am unfamiliar with: