• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Click "RG3" at the very bottom-left of this page to change it. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

Discussion - When did the addiction begin for you? (1 Viewer)

RedCents
245¢
Question I always like to ask people... when did it start for you? Did it end for a period before returning?

For me, I grew up watching my dad play, started when I was barely in school (TSS/TBS was current??) and I've been playing ever since for the past 14 years

RedCents
387¢
I was living in the US for work with young family. Kunark was current with Velious just coming. I remember my first character getting lost in a forest with all these eyes from level 3-5 mobs glaring back and thinking Woot! Remember someone telling me to turn my gamma up and making some of the best friends in EQ; when you had to group/guild and chat via text, medding was 20mins downtime between killing mobs when kiting as a Dru! Raiding was 70 people with STFU in /raid common and graphics on super low, often looking at the floor to help avoid lag lol. Fond memories of 100 plat being a fortune to some. And my kids looking over my shoulder and asking if they can play!!!

RedCents
835¢
In late 1999, I had a junior Marine working for me in Japan and I came in around 0530 one day to find him printing REAMS of maps on my work computer. WTF was he doing with government resources printing game maps?!?! I started counseling him (yelling with lots of extra expletives) about responsibility and misuse of government assets.

“But Gunny, I need those maps for EverQuest.”

“WTF is EverQuest Marine?”

“An online game that I play with my friends.”