• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • Hail Guest, RedGuides is proud to announce the official release of MacroQuest, which we're now using as the base for Very Vanilla. Join the release party!
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Click "RG3" at the very bottom-left of this page to change it. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

Question - The last piece of the puzzle (MQ2NAV door opening issue) (1 Viewer)

Joined
Dec 30, 2019
RedCents
961¢
I will pay you 1 BILLION dollars* to help me figure this out!

So, I do most of my power leveling of my toons in ST. Shocking, I know. My issue is that I can't for the life of me get my puller (or any toons) to open the doors. I posted about this awhile back and SIC recommended using the UI Nav tool and debug doors to check the distance it which the doors were being clicked. I think he also mentioned something about the actual size of the toon making a difference.
Well, I've tried resetting the click distance in 1 foot increments from 1 foot to 40 feet on a couple of different toons, and no luck at all. I've tried with toons being normal size and shrunk, one was an ogre and the other a DE.

There are approx 359 bot groups in ST, and they don't seem to have any issues going through doors ><
Haaaaalp!

*payable on 1/1/2301
 
Last edited:

Sum1

Warriors are inferior (read: crybaby) tanks
Joined
Jul 30, 2006
RedCents
2,306¢
Did you edit the Nav meshes to leave a narrower path through the doors? My guys would always try to take the doors too close to the edge, which kept them from going through, even if they clicked them.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
RedCents
54¢
Had the same problem in Skyshrine. So nav to the nearest door and then open mq2nav tool - Debug tools - Door Handler Debug - trigger distance is what you need to incease. Look at the first OBJ_INTDOOR # ( should be the door your standing at) whatever that number is round it up and make it your new trigger distance.
Also in mq2nav tool - settings - navigation - automatically click nearby doors is selected.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
RedCents
961¢
Had the same problem in Skyshrine. So nav to the nearest door and then open mq2nav tool - Debug tools - Door Handler Debug - trigger distance is what you need to incease. Look at the first OBJ_INTDOOR # ( should be the door your standing at) whatever that number is round it up and make it your new trigger distance.
Also in mq2nav tool - settings - navigation - automatically click nearby doors is selected.

We're getting closer, I think! So I tried this in ST and with a different toon in POK as well. In POK, clicking "force enabled" turned all of the names of doors etc white andshowed the distance from any given door I approached. In ST, that doesn't happen. The names of clickable objects stay red and it never shows the distance to the door. Any ideas?
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
RedCents
54¢
mq2nav tool - Debug tools - objects - vew doors, will give you a list of all doors.
So when i was in skyshrine and navigated to a door and got stuck, my distance to the door trigger was 40, but my door trigger was set at 20, so i set it to 50 and it worked.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
RedCents
961¢
mq2nav tool - Debug tools - objects - vew doors, will give you a list of all doors.
So when i was in skyshrine and navigated to a door and got stuck, my distance to the door trigger was 40, but my door trigger was set at 20, so i set it to 50 and it worked.
So I solved one problem, and now he'll click the doors to open them. Turns out I needed to uncheck the "ignore scripted doors" option. Woot!
However, now the issue is he goes to the side of the doors just enough to get stuck. Any tips on that one?
 

Sic

"MacroQuest - Live" in the RG Launcher
Moderator
Joined
May 5, 2016
RedCents
27,170¢
So I solved one problem, and now he'll click the doors to open them. Turns out I needed to uncheck the "ignore scripted doors" option. Woot!
However, now the issue is he goes to the side of the doors just enough to get stuck. Any tips on that one?
yes, adjust your mesh so you go to the center

in zone - area types i usually create something with a very high are value
1612279384369.png

and then areas i want to avoid "mark" with that hellaAvoid and make the green prefered
1612279390582.png


re: the doors - yes any door that is more than 1 "door" - like double doors, or a button that triggers a rock to open are "scripted doors" and you have to turn off the ignore scriped doors

here is my ST mesh
 

Attachments

  • charasisb.navmesh
    137.8 KB · Views: 10
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
RedCents
2,021¢
So I solved one problem, and now he'll click the doors to open them. Turns out I needed to uncheck the "ignore scripted doors" option. Woot!
However, now the issue is he goes to the side of the doors just enough to get stuck. Any tips on that one?
Navmesh editing :P Mine is even more aggressive than Sic's I make sections not pathable.

1612279586913.png
 

Attachments

  • charasisb.navmesh
    132.2 KB · Views: 7

LorDeth

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 14, 2016
RedCents
242¢
So I solved one problem, and now he'll click the doors to open them. Turns out I needed to uncheck the "ignore scripted doors" option. Woot!
However, now the issue is he goes to the side of the doors just enough to get stuck. Any tips on that one?

I was having the same problem in ST when i was in there before.. but only on one door.. the .. left one? (between left big room and middle)

I'll try out your fix next time i'm down there, but cheers thanks for figuring it out and posting!
 

Sic

"MacroQuest - Live" in the RG Launcher
Moderator
Joined
May 5, 2016
RedCents
27,170¢
just fyi - the problem with making something not pathable (when it is) versus a high avoidance is if you end up on that spot due to fighting something, or a knockback, or bumping another player - now your toon is stuck there. I strongly advise using a custom valued avoid in places that you can nav, but just don't want to

edit: there are plenty of times where i DO use can't path - but somewhere i might get in a pickle at isn't one of them
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
RedCents
2,021¢
just fyi - the problem with making something not pathable (when it is) versus a high avoidance is if you end up on that spot due to fighting something, or a knockback, or bumping another player - now your toon is stuck there. I strongly advise using a custom valued avoid in places that you can nav, but just don't want to
That is true, I mostly did the doors there for collection item pickups with a rogue. No fighting.

Pickle try this one out, changed no-pathing to high avoidance
 

Attachments

  • charasisb.navmesh
    134.4 KB · Views: 11
Last edited:

Sic

"MacroQuest - Live" in the RG Launcher
Moderator
Joined
May 5, 2016
RedCents
27,170¢
Unfortunately, any of these edits will get overwritten the next time you update meshes via the launcher unless someone has included a doors friendly mesh in the pack that gets pushed to the launcher.
I can no longer push meshes to the updater otherwise i would
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top