• IS THIS SITE UGLY? Click "RG3" at the very bottom-left of this page to change it. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->
  • You've been invited to attend the 2nd annual "EverQuest Software Awards"
Resource icon

Macro - shiny.mac (EQ collection items) 2019-12-26

Joined
Apr 30, 2019
RedCents
2,961¢
jande submitted a new resource:

shiny.mac (EQ collection items) - Manages collection in housing, allows easy retrieval/sorting

The idea behind this is that you have houses with collectibles (one per expansion should be enough). Now when you make a new character you run around and just grab one of each and click it. Well yes if you want to give up in frustration with all the clicking.

My saviour* my hero* is the following macro that does all of this for you.
* debatable

As with all things some setup is needed.
Setup 6 houses close together:
copy shiny.ini to your Macros folder
copy...
Read more about this resource...
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
RedCents
2,961¢
After fixing spelling errors I realized that the get is a bit broken you may have the item and the macro will never know it. That got me thinking how to make it less error prone

Check for shiny_<charname>_servername.ini
If it does not run through shiny.ini. copy expansions into shiny_<charname>_servername.ini
Run through the housing items compare against shiny_<charname>_servername.ini
If it matches grab a collection item to inventory
Remove the item from shiny_<charname>_servername.ini (when it gets added to your inventory)

So the list in shiny_<charname>_servername.ini will shrink over time to contain the items that you do not have yet.

Like:
  • Spelling errors will not matter anymore. Currently MQ2VIP collections.mac writes collections.ini with the names it finds in the achievement window which does not always match the item name.
    • Post the list of errors and duplicates on daybreak forum and hope dev fixes it.
  • Don't have to use MQ2VIP collections.mac
  • Don't have to rerun MQ2VIP collections.mac before /mac shiny get
Dislike:
  • The large shiny.ini at the beginning
  • Chance for user error e.g user doesn't click item just puts it back into housing manually
  • Having to retrieve all the items even if you do not need it the first time. Will take a bit of time to run.
  • Have to do /mac shiny owner after above means logging in the housing owner
    • May just add another option e.g /mac shiny combine to combine stacks and ignore owner.
  • Having to now give /mac shiny get <expansion>
  • Have to keep shiny.ini maintained which has to happen anyway
I can live with the dislikes. Would like to hear some comments before I embark on this journey as it is not a small change.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
RedCents
3,308¢
I Just Don;t Understand The 6 Houses Part ?
The macro assumes you're using the housing system to store your collection items. Split them up by expansion, each in a different house, otherwise you'll eventually run out of space. You don't have to use 6 different houses, it's just easier to sort through if you know that all your collections from an expansion are in one place.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
RedCents
224¢
I so want to do this but I went alphabetical with my collection houses - using 3 atm. Do I really want to make some more alts so I can get more houses? :)
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
RedCents
3,308¢
I so want to do this but I went alphabetical with my collection houses - using 3 atm. Do I really want to make some more alts so I can get more houses? :)
If you already have the collection items in housing storage, just type /mac shiny get click while standing in the plot and the macro will go through and grab one of each needed item and then click it.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
RedCents
2,961¢
I Just Don;t Understand The 6 Houses Part ?
Soon to be 7 :D and yes it is a pain but it does solve a problem. Full collections are big and the biggest storage I have found that is vendor bought is 300 slots.
RoF 481
CotF 232
TDS 256
TBM 160
EoK 192
RoS 192
TBL 192
So RoF needs 2 houses to store all collection items rest of the expansions is under the 300 limit. Realistic number that I am seeing is 150-170 per house. Now if you have it alphabetically you need to leave space for adding extras without having to take the last alpha item and move it to next house etc etc.

What I found is that people do collections by expansion so very easy for me to check a specific house. My collection toons have access to each others houses and I use a specific one to manage ownership of items in all the housing.

I so want to do this but I went alphabetical with my collection houses - using 3 atm. Do I really want to make some more alts so I can get more houses? :)
Who doesn't have 50 alts already !
 

Sum1

Diehard is a christmas movie
Joined
Jul 30, 2006
RedCents
4,036¢
I need to get this and set it up. Right now I have shinies spread across like 12+ toons for all expansions with no order to it.

Will this go through your inventory for all shinies pertaining to an expansion and place them in the associated plot for you? It looks like it does, if you’re in the appropriate plot and you issue the proper place command.

omg, now I’m imaging all the bank and inventory space I’ll get back!
 
Top