• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Click "RG3" at the very bottom-left of this page to change it. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

Tech - Ryzen 3950x - 16 cores @ 4.7Ghz!!!!! (1 Viewer)

Joined
Jan 20, 2013
RedCents
131¢
I can load about 9 groups on the 2700x. Probably run into a GPU bottleneck before you use all of that CPU. No one believed me when I said intel better watch out when the first generation of ryzens were released. Go benchmark that 3950x vs almost anything intel has right now and it will come out ahead way ahead.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2013
RedCents
641¢
I can load about 9 groups on the 2700x. Probably run into a GPU bottleneck before you use all of that CPU. No one believed me when I said intel better watch out when the first generation of ryzens were released. Go benchmark that 3950x vs almost anything intel has right now and it will come out ahead way ahead.
What are your stats with that load? Memory and cpu usage?
 

drwhomphd

Moderator
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
RedCents
607¢
I'm looking forward to the threadrippers from this generation as well. Should be brutal. Sadly they don't yet seem to have a similar laptop ryzen chip yet that competed well in the 6c/12t range.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
RedCents
131¢
What are your stats with that load? Memory and cpu usage?
Using AMD RX 580 GPU and 64 gbs of 3200 DDR4. Ram really isnt an issue you use about 600 mbs per instance and CPU wise .5 to 1.5 % You do notice some system lag though probably too many instances up for an 8 core CPU.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
RedCents
131¢
I'm looking forward to the threadrippers from this generation as well. Should be brutal. Sadly they don't get seem to have a similar laptop ryzen chip yet that competed well in the 6c/12t range.
Threadripper is supposed to have over 50% performance increase from previous generation.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2019
RedCents
762¢
Using AMD RX 580 GPU and 64 gbs of 3200 DDR4. Ram really isnt an issue you use about 600 mbs per instance and CPU wise .5 to 1.5 % You do notice some system lag though probably too many instances up for an 8 core CPU.
I think the key is all in the various configs. Been trying to get my CPU down better to get more bots than mq2fps + m2viewport using mq2eqwire but not managing it. Do you run bots with low resolution, luclin models etc?
 

AshLyNN

Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
RedCents
57¢
I'm looking for 2x32 ddr4 ram cl14 or cl16, only can find lower mhz in this config, anyone able to suggest higher for the ryzen 9 3900x? Possibly with rgb features
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
RedCents
131¢
after a while the RAM usage drops to 32GB, so I am guessing you can run 12 on 32GB RAM
Thats because windows 10 moves a lot of what EQ uses to virtual memory. Click the memory tab and screenshot that :) You should have over 90gbs committed. I have 101 with 9 groups and the problem is you cant clear that without reloading all the toons and it keeps going up and up and up. Go to details and screenshot how much ram is committed to each eqgame.exe mine are over 3 gbs each.
 
Joined
May 8, 2019
RedCents
214¢
Thats because windows 10 moves a lot of what EQ uses to virtual memory. Click the memory tab and screenshot that :) You should have over 90gbs committed. I have 101 with 9 groups and the problem is you cant clear that without reloading all the toons and it keeps going up and up and up. Go to details and screenshot how much ram is committed to each eqgame.exe mine are over 3 gbs each.
I wonder why it treats EQ1 and EQ2 memory so different. On EQ2 Windows has each instance using nearly 2GB, and 15% CPU (if frame limited to 50FPS) on a 3930K. Maybe they do something like encrypt the memory or something there?
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top