• IS THIS SITE UGLY? Click "RG3" at the very bottom-left of this page to change it. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->
  • You've been invited to attend the 2nd annual "EverQuest Software Awards"
MQ2EQBC

Plugin - MQ2EQBC 16.5

Teichou

RedGuides OG
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
RedCents
355¢
MQ2EQBC - (EQ box chat) This plugin is composed of two parts, a server (MQ2EQBCS.exe) and a client (MQ2EQBC).
  • The server provides a similar service to an IRC server but is much easier to setup.
  • The client is similar to the MQ2IRC client in that it monitors text that is sent to the EQBC server.

Detailed Info can be found here

Commands
Rich (BB code):
-- /bccmd quit - Disconnects from the server
-- /bccmd help - Show Help
-- /bccmd status - Show if connected or not
-- /bccmd reconnect - Close the current connection and connect again
-- /bccmd names - List everyone that is connected to the server
-- /bccmd colordump - Show color codes

-- /bccmd toggle option
-- /bccmd set option < on | off >

    Toggle or set option on or off. Valid options:

    -- autoconnect - Auto connect to server when plugin loads
    -- control - Allow remote control
    -- compatmode - IRC compatibility mode keeps name formatting IRC friendly and echoes outgoing /bct
    -- reconnect - Auto-reconnect on server disconnect or zone change
    -- window - Use dedicated EQBC UI window
    -- localecho - Echoing outgoing commands back if in a channel (echo is server-driven)
    -- tellwatch - Relay received tells to /bc does not support tell windows
    -- guildwatch - Relay guild chat received to /bc
    -- groupwatch - Relay group chat received to /bc
    -- fswatch - Relay fellowship chat received to /bc
    -- silentcmd - Squelch 'CMD: [command]' echo
    -- nameannounce - announce names on connect / disconnect
    -- savebychar - Saving custom UI window settings to CharName sections of the configuration file (saves to Window if disabled)
    -- silentinccmd - Squelches incoming eqbc command requests
    -- silentoutmsg - Squelches outgoing /bct with compatmode on
    -- notifycontrol - Relays a message to /bc if the control option is disabled when a command request is received
    -- echoall - Echoes outgoing /bca commands if enabled

-- /bccmd set reconnectsecs # - Set the number of seconds to wait until reconnecting (default 15)
-- /bccmd stopreconnect - Stop trying to reconnect for now
-- /bccmd channels <channel list> - Set the list of channels to receive tells from.
-- /bccmd version - Show plugin version

-- /bc your text here - Send "your text here" to the server.

-- /bct ToonName your text here Send "your text here" to ToonName
-- /bct ToonName //command - Send /command to ToonName

-- /bca //command - Send /command to all connected clients, excluding the client you issued the command from.

-- /bcaa //command - Send /command to all connected clients, including the client you issued the command from.

-- /bcfont # -S ets the font size of the UI window, similar to the /mqfont command

-- /bcmin - Minimizes the UI window, similar to the /mqmin command

-- /bcclear - Clears the buffer of the UI window, similar to the /mqclear command
Sample Setup: (enable pasting from clipboard in Everquest options)
Rich (BB code):
/bccmd connect 127.0.0.1 2112
/bccmd set autoconnect on
/bccmd set window on
Examples:
Rich (BB code):
Sending commands to other toons:
/bct ToonName //sit
/bct ToonName //stand
/bct ToonName //macro ninjalooter
/bct ToonName //endmacro

Sending commands to channels:
/bccmd channels chatchan, commands
/bct chatchan hey there guys
/bct commands //bct chatchan My zone: $\{Zone.ShortName}

Sending commands to all other connects clients:
/bca //target id ${Me.ID}
/bca //timed 10 /stick 10
or
/bca //stick id ${Me.ID} 5 uw

Sending commands to all clients including yourself:
/bcaa //makecamp return
Top Level Ojbects
${EQBC}

MemberDescriptionMember Type
ConnectedConnection status to an EQBC serverbool
NamesList of connected charactersstring
PortPort number if connect, otherwise OFFLINEstring
ServerCurrent server domain name or IP addressString
ToonNameYour EQBC client name (probaby ${Me.Name})String
Setting[option]On/Off status of specified option (/bccmd set for list)bool
Example:
Rich (BB code):
/echo ${EQBC.Names}
returns "[MQ2] gSe7eN eqmule plure sym1 redbot Warl0ck45"

(note to propagate EQBC.Names, use /bccmd names first)

Example
Rich (BB code):
/echo ${EQBC.Port}
returns "[MQ2] 2112"


EXCLUSIVE TO THE REDGUIDES COMPILE
The /bcg and /bcga command.
- Might have mentioned in passing by william12 according to him.

/bcg
This command will only be sent to group members other than the character issuing the command that are connected to the EQBC server.
It will be ignored by any other character connected to your EQBC server not in that group.
Ignores mercenaries.

Rich (BB code):
/bcg //Sit
Would make everyone in the group sit EXCEPT yourself

/bcga
This command will only be sent to group members including the character issuing the command that are connected to the EQBC server.
It will be ignored by any other character connected to your EQBC server not in that group.
Ignores mercenaries.

Rich (BB code):
/bcga //Sit
Would make everyone in the group sit INCLUDING yourself

Links to Android Mobile Apps for EQBC
Free unpaid version
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ieatacid.eqbcmobile
 
Last edited:

Mugly

New member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
RedCents
I installed the test version of Vanilla and I cannot get the EQBC server to connect.

I open the eqbc program and it says waiting to connect and when I log on my toon and type /bccmd connect I get a bad command line return. I know I am not doing something. Any help available?
 

Sic

MQ2 Diplomat
Moderator
Joined
May 5, 2016
RedCents
12,386¢
Have you followed this awesome guide? MQ2EQBC Guide like the 2003 server kit part?

What exact "bad command line return" are you getting? did you ensure the mq2eqbc plugin is running? you can /plugin mq2eqbc then /bccmd connect

Edited to add a Welcome to RedGuides and the MQ2 world!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

EQbackagain

Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2016
RedCents
1,331¢
You probably actually just need to run the server program as it doesn't start up when you load up MQ. It's called EQBC.exe and is in the folder of MQ2.
 

llarrswind

New member
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
RedCents
140¢
eqbc server simply will not work this morning, I ran the update as my computer restarted over night logged in as usual and eqbc isn't having any of it.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
RedCents
346¢
Have you tried changing the IP it listens on to 127.0.0.1 instead of 0.0.0.0? If you don't connect to it with a different PC over the network then this might help.

-orkim
 

llarrswind

New member
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
RedCents
140¢
Yup I did all that, I normally always start it by right clicking the icon from MQ. I got it to work after launching the standalone and then running debug mode it sorted it self out and worked.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2015
RedCents
2,186¢
Alright so I run a macro to toss my toons into proper channels. This just started happening with the last patch.

This is the macro:

Code:
sub Main
/if (${Select[${Me.Class.ShortName},BRD]})  {
/bccmd channels priv privbrd privmelee
}
/if (${Select[${Me.Class.ShortName},SHD]}) {
/bccmd channels priv privtank privmelee
}
/if (${Select[${Me.Class.ShortName},CLR,DRU,SHM]})  {
/bccmd channels priv privheal
}
/if (${Select[${Me.Class.ShortName},MNK,ROG,BER,RNG,BST]})  {
/bccmd channels priv privmelee
}
/if (${Select[${Me.Class.ShortName},WIZ,MAG,ENC]})  {
/bccmd channels priv privcast
}
/if (${Select[${Me.Class.ShortName},WAR]})  {
/bccmd channels priv privtank
}
/if (${Select[${Me.Class.ShortName},BRD]})  {
/bccmd channels priv privbrd privmelee
}
/return
This is what happens sometimes.

error.png

so that is a bard that for some reason echos to BC. Sometimes it just says HANNELS for the first one. The heck?
 

ChatWithThisName

⚔️🛡️🗡️
Moderator
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
RedCents
7,600¢
@Vengen do you get a message when it won't accept anymore clients? I poked the plugin with a stick, but I didn't see where there was a limit defined right off. But it's a rather complex plugin/program to me as I've never delt with networking things at all.
 

ChatWithThisName

⚔️🛡️🗡️
Moderator
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
RedCents
7,600¢
Thanks for the post s0rcier, I spent a good bit of time poking EQBCS and MQ2EQBC source files with a stick and found no location that showed a max connection/clients restriction.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2017
RedCents
So i had two EQBCS files in my MQ2, the other was EQBCS2.exe
using EQBCS2.exe lets me go above 50.. so maybe the EQBCS.exe is an older version..
 
Joined
May 1, 2019
RedCents
70¢
Been running into a lot of issues with eqbc since update on emu.
I am losing connection yet it says connected but none of my connected chars are getting commands.
Sometimes when I send a command it will throw my character straight to the desktop with no error.
kiss commands through eqbc are often crashing my toons to desktop with no error
 

kuzzan

New member
Joined
May 30, 2015
RedCents
Hey, im trying to connect to my eqbc server remotly. Its kind of working, but i am seeing a invalid or partial login error in the debug and then it closes my remote connection. How would i login via tcp to the server?
 

jimbob

Moderator
Joined
May 31, 2014
RedCents
2,970¢
Make sure you are either using a SSH/VPN tunnel for security (not required, but highly encouraged), and that you have eqbc server listening on a physical interface's IP Address (not 0.0.0.0 or 127.x.x.x).
 

kuzzan

New member
Joined
May 30, 2015
RedCents
Make sure you are either using a SSH/VPN tunnel for security (not required, but highly encouraged), and that you have eqbc server listening on a physical interface's IP Address (not 0.0.0.0 or 127.x.x.x).
JimBob,I think the connection is working fine.
The issue seems to be that I don't know how to authenticate with EQBCS, just to clarify I'm doing this without the EQBC client, but trying to connect via telnet from a remote comuter.
I'm seeing this in from my EQBC instance: Client::OnAuthenticationTimeout() client failed to authenticate...
Is there any kind of documentation around the API, eg what to pass to authenticate or is it a read the code and try to figure it out situation ?

Thanks

Managed to dig around and foundthe solution needed to send a LOGIN=name; to the server to keep the connection open
 
Last edited:

kuzzan

New member
Joined
May 30, 2015
RedCents
You could use eqbci instead of telnet.
Yeah but eqbci is windows only right ?
I'm kinda looking into doing something similar but with a web deployment, so you could watch over your bots remotely from any device/anywhere.
 

Teichou

RedGuides OG
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
RedCents
355¢
Yeah but eqbci is windows only right ?
I'm kinda looking into doing something similar but with a web deployment, so you could watch over your bots remotely from any device/anywhere.

we had talk at one point in time about making a eqbcs for droid but I dont think it ever took off
 

jimbob

Moderator
Joined
May 31, 2014
RedCents
2,970¢
Yeah but eqbci is windows only right ?
I'm kinda looking into doing something similar but with a web deployment, so you could watch over your bots remotely from any device/anywhere.
This is maybe a little late, but eqbci is cross platform compatible. I wrote it on Linux with QT. I have an Android apk as well....
 
Top