• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Click "RG3" at the very bottom-left of this page to change it. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

Problem - Mesh Updater not working (1 Viewer)

Joined
May 31, 2021
RedCents
Just got mq2 and I am slowly familiaring myself with it. Been on it for a few days do, and want to work on incorporating meshes. Problem is I get an error (pic attached) when trying to use it, which severly hampers ones ability to fully streamline the process. Anyone have an idea on a fix, because I am not really sure about how to make them myself, and for the amount of zones EQ has, that would be quite the challenge.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 31, 2021
RedCents
Installed on 5/31. I've tried both launcher, and the .exe in the directory, even going as far to restart it, and the error still persists.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
RedCents
6,263¢
SSL is failing to establish a secure connection. Either your .NET is out of date (Before January 2021), or something on your PC or some middleware is messing with the secure connection.
 
Joined
May 31, 2021
RedCents
SSL is failing to establish a secure connection. Either your .NET is out of date (Before January 2021), or something on your PC or some middleware is messing with the secure connection.
Just checked, and .net is up to date. I have tried reinstalling, and running in admin mode, and still nothing. Do you know offhand what settings I can check for the cause? I am sort of an idiot with these things.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
RedCents
6,263¢
TBH last time I never figured out what it was. I wound up completely reinstalling .net for him via remote connection. I still think certain antivirus software causes it, or firewalls blocking the connection, in MOST cases. I'm going to completely rewrite the updater in C++ with no .net needed soon. Until then, the same files from the updater are always available at https://mqmesh.com
 
Last edited:

cannonballdex

Mad Scientist
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
RedCents
2,358¢
TBH last time I never figured out what it was. I wound up completely reinstalling .net for him via remote connection. I still think certain antivirus software causes it, or firewalls blocking the connection, in MOST cases. I'm going to completely rewrite the updater in C++ with no .net needed soon. Until then, the same files from the updater are always available at https://mqmesh.com
Some one a while back was telling me to get a hold of you about updated navmesh files, I just really never got around to it haha. I was fortunate enough to spend a lot of time learning the generator and updating a fair share of mesh files. For this is the only reason I do not use the updater. But with that being said, you have done a great job with the whole navmesh file and updater system. Grats.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
RedCents
6,263¢
Another possibility I've seen actually is something messes (malware/spyware/or whatever) with the .net http library dll. and Antivirus just wipes it out. Most of the time windows just forces edge on you instead of using their .net library so if you never use it you'd never get infected and antivirus just deletes it. .Net repair tool HAS worked for a couple people I'm told on discord by someone seeing this.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top