• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Click "RG3" at the very bottom-left of this page to change it. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

Question - I ended up getting the new computer (1 Viewer)

Free_Sid

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 18, 2021
RedCents
729¢
I bought a new computer. Quick Question. I want to copy my screen layot with all the hot buttons.
1. How do I do that? I went to /C, Userfiles, Daybreak games, Everquest.....after that im not sure. is it Ui files???? Can I copy the entire folder or the toon names?

2. I downloaded EQ on the new computer....should i copy the files before installing RG? or install RG first??? does that even matter?

Redcents for the help....and thanks
 

Sic

[sic]
Moderator
Joined
May 5, 2016
RedCents
23,352¢
I bought a new computer. Quick Question. I want to copy my screen layot with all the hot buttons.
1. How do I do that? I went to /C, Userfiles, Daybreak games, Everquest.....after that im not sure. is it Ui files???? Can I copy the entire folder or the toon names?

2. I downloaded EQ on the new computer....should i copy the files before installing RG? or install RG first??? does that even matter?

Redcents for the help....and thanks
howdy sid,

1. I always just copy the whole thing - and then i *do* run the eq launcher and do a file check just-in-case
2. do you mean copy over RG files/folder? That's up to you, doesn't make a huge difference - if you copy it first, make sure you direct your VV launcher to that folder.

Keep in mind if you use autologin on computer1, you will have to "export" on computer1 and then "import" them on computer2
from your macroquest2 icon:
1628308684288.png
then import/export
type in a password and with "Export Profiles" selected, click ok
1628308701344.png
it will ask you where to save the file - this is the file you will want to "import profiles" with on computer2 (with your password put in)
 

Many_Whelps

WoW was the first MMO
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
RedCents
8,837¢
Backup your entire EQ folder. I make monthly backups of my EQ folder and then email it to myself. Specifically, the information about screen layouts is stored in your eqclient.ini file, UI_charactername.ini and charactername_servername.ini files.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2006
RedCents
1,148¢
Backup your entire EQ folder. I make monthly backups of my EQ folder and then email it to myself. Specifically, the information about screen layouts is stored in your eqclient.ini file, UI_charactername.ini and charactername_servername.ini files.
I use FreeFileSync, it let's me exclude or include specific files or directories easily and can be setup as a batch job through Task Scheduler, I have it back up to my OneDrive so they all stay backed up there.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2021
RedCents
181¢
Hey guys I am having a problem, recently I just got my 2nd PC up and running, I installed RG Launcher on PC #2 so i can play with MQ2 on both computers.
My problem is that I am trying to export all of my profile lists from PC#1 to PC#2. I did the import/export with the password and put the PW in correctly, copied the autologin file it generated to the correct folder. I can right click on the MQ2 icon to go to profiles and my profile lists are all there but it doesnt show any of my characters, it only shows the server name. Any help and ideas so I dont have to manually go back and put all this info in again? Thanks in advance guys
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2021
RedCents
62¢
I have all my equi files set as symlinks to a Google drive folder, it works nicely to keep my UIs across my main computer, laptop, and backup computer the same. Then I manually copy my VV files as I need them as I've read that due to how MQ writes to the ini files trying to keep them off your drive is not realistic
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2020
RedCents
616¢
Backup your entire EQ folder. I make monthly backups of my EQ folder and then email it to myself. Specifically, the information about screen layouts is stored in your eqclient.ini file, UI_charactername.ini and charactername_servername.ini files.
@Many_Whelps Even all the Gnome Cyber Pics? ewww....

Virtual Reality Love GIF by Trippyogi
 

Hulkman

n1 have 1 cool trick?
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
RedCents
2,651¢
What I did is the most simplistic thing possible.

Get a USB backup drive (they are inexpensive). Copy the entire EQ folder and sub-folder as in right onto the drive.

Then Copy everything back into the NEW computer - and Bingo you have EQ fully restored with all your settings


Btw - for all those DIE hard EQ players - everyone should backup EQ like this , if anything were to go wrong you got everything saved
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
RedCents
1,312¢
Or you can set up a backup routine, having an auto copy occur to a google drive or other online backup resource periodically. Keeping at least three different versions of the backup before overwrites. Then you don't even have to find that flash drive (or risk losing / damaging it). Or even remember to do it manually at all. :D 🍻
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top