• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Change the look. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

Question - How to obtain current slider value (1 Viewer)

RedCents
156¢
Hi all. I'm having an issue where my screen gets dark sometimes (perhaps when I camp other toons out? not sure). My "fix" is to go into options and nudge the gamma a little bit which brightens it right up.

I'm a bit of a noob on using /notify to manipulate controls, but through searching I found that I can affect the gamma slider using a command like this:
/notify OptionsDisplayPage ODP_GammaSlider newvalue 9
The above sets the gamma slider to 47%. A newvalue of 19 sets is to 100%.

What I'd like to do is to query the current gamma value from the slider so that I can make two hotbuttons, one to increment the gamma and one to decrement the gamma.

So my question is: How can I query the current value of ODP_GammaSlider. Thanks.

Anytime you can "notify" a window, you would be able to get information from that same window.

${Window[OptionsDisplayPage].Child[ODP_GammaSlider].MemberGoesHere}

This is part of the Window datatype. Here are the potential members of the window TLO.

Without checking in game you'll need to try some options to see if you can find one that gives you the value. Usually with a slider there's also an input box so you can type in manually, this will typically house the current value. I've always known what I want to set slider values to, and never bothered to check what the current value is (think, choosing quantity when buying items).

Try

Text
Tooltip

One of these may get the results you want. Replace "MemberGoesHere" with the member you want to use. Alternately you'd need to know the name of the child window for the input box and try to get the value from it using Text/Tooltip