• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Click "RG3" at the very bottom-left of this page to change it. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

Question - FTP Accounts - Do you buy the spell Rank II upgrade from Daybreak Store?

Joined
Mar 9, 2017
RedCents
9,402¢
For your long term Free-to-Play accounts do you guys spend the 750 Daybreak cash to permanently unlock Rank II spells and abilities? Seems like they're about 5-7% increase in damage or AC or such.

(Daybreak Store -> Services -> Spell Rank Cap Increase)

For all DPS? For FTP tanks? Only worth it for certain classes or levels?

I currently keep tank Gold, but healer/DPS/CC are FTP most of the year. I buy them xpac's as I can afford and Krono them at least once a year for AA. But otherwise I've rarely spent money on them.

Edit: Just to clarify from lower posts:
  • If you're Gold you can mem/use Rank II.
  • If you earned Rank II while Gold and let your sub expire, you can no longer use Rank II until you're Gold again.
  • If you're FTP (or Gold that expired) and buy the Spell Cap Increase, you can mem/use Rank II
  • If you're pure FTP, you can not mem/use Rank II.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 9, 2015
RedCents
928¢
man, hadn't noticed the spell unlocker before, think I'll probably purchase that, after I gold my DPS/CC/Healer accounts for 2 months before I drop them back to silver, as that will give me 1000 DB cash so can unlock the spells on 1 char on each account

Wish they would bring the item unlockers back like they used to have
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2019
RedCents
316¢
I’ve been thinking about doing the same thing for a few months now. Yes, definitely worth it. Especially considering all the crap DPG has in their store.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
RedCents
9,402¢
@VorpalChicken - Ah that's a good strat. I forgot you can just bank your free 500 Daybreak cash from subscription. If you buy it during active sub, it's also marked down 10% to 675 daybreak cash.

Prestige unlocker would rock, but I think that's one of the main things they keep in Gold to encourage subs.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
RedCents
610¢
I went Gold to auto grant all those AA on my shaman - I was going to buy the RK II unlocker when the sale hit (I am super cheap) and when I got granted the $5 and then go back to Silver (what I was on that character before). I wound up having so much fun with the shaman I am still Gold on him. But I will buy it next sale just to have it.

On the other side someone posted recently in forums that they had bought it about 7 months ago when they were Gold but when they went F2P this month and they were casting RK I - like the unlocker was not working. Now I don't know if it flags your account or if its a claim item and sometimes memories get confused with all the characters most people run. So not sure what happened with that.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2018
RedCents
247¢
I was thinking, I am certain I will krono all my FTP accounts sometime. If I fix all the rk2 spells, while they are Krono, I dont need to buy that unlock? Or am I thinking wrong here?
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2019
RedCents
2,044¢
Most of my ftp accounts had a krono dropped on them to max EOK AA's. Since I krono'd them to get max ROS AA's, I bought Rk2. I always save my 500 DBC per krono now
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
RedCents
9,402¢
You can learn Rank II while gold, when you drop back to FTP you use the Rank I. The EQ made hot buttons will still list Rank II, but they fire the basic spell. Just tested it on a silver war and he popped the basic version of Warrior's Bastion instead of Warrior's Bastion rk II, even though his button is Rank II.

KA and chat's plugins will just use the best version you have avail. I think most of the other plugins/macros adjust too.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2016
RedCents
10¢
Something here is amiss , I do exactly that and buy expansion out of gate level to 115 . Then eat krono to max AA and get RKII spells when toon drops to silver I still have acsess to all AA's and still cast all my RKII spells.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2013
RedCents
840¢
Check the marketplace under services and see if the spell rank increase is available to that character.

If not then you purchased it at some point and would explain the weirdness.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
RedCents
610¢
Check the marketplace under services and see if the spell rank increase is available to that character.

If not then you purchased it at some point and would explain the weirdness.
I believe your right. It acts like the "Hero's Forge Armor Feature" where once you have purchased it then you can no longer see it in the marketplace.

I have not purchased the spell rank increaser in marketplace and I can still see it for sale, on gold or silver or F2P accounts.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2019
RedCents
294¢
So does the spell rank increaser allow you to memorize spells when you are not gold or just cast the ones at a higher rank ones that you have already memorized?
 

Saffron

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
RedCents
805¢
The RKI spells get overwritten in your spell book when you learn the RKII version so how does that work? You memorize the RKII version but when you cast the RKI version goes off?
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
RedCents
610¢
So does the spell rank increaser allow you to memorize spells when you are not gold or just cast the ones at a higher rank ones that you have already memorized?
Straight from the marketplace description:

"Spell Rank Cap Increase"

This will give you the ability to scribe and cast RK II spells. This is a character specific unlock and applies ONLY to the character on which you buy this unlock. Note if you convert to Gold, this will not be refunded, but if you revert back to Free or Silver, previously purchased cap increasers will remain. (This item will not appear in your inventory, your account will be flagged on purchase)

So it sounds as if it does in fact allow one to scribe RK II while free if you buy it - I may try it out someday. Or if someone else has done it?

My understanding is the RK II spell picture does not change in your spell book once you go free/silver but you just cast as RK I if you have not bought the unolcker. So yes to Saffron on that.

Another unlocker in the marketplace is the AA increase. I feel this is silly and should be removed as its basically a scam like selling time shares or pyramid schemes:

If its $2.50 for 100 and you buy 6 = $15.00
You would only increase your AA by 600

If you paid for a month = $14.99 (or cheaper)
And then auto grant = hundreds of AA depending on your level

But I am sure they have made some $$ doing that - I know of 2 people personally who have GOLD accounts and purchased the increasers:confused:
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
RedCents
9,402¢
Tested it both ways.

Gold account when subscription times runs out = no Rank II. You lose ability to use Rank II by default. Any Rank II spells/abilities will still show in spellbook, spell bar, combat bar menu, EQ hotkeys and such. But when you use them, you'll get the basic "rank I" version buff or cast. My Warrior has all the Rank II AC/Mitigation stuff and with no sub (his prestige weapon is yellow and all aug'd gear has purple warning) he is only getting Rank I versions of discs and AC buffs. If somebody can find one that still casts Rank II let us know. I didn't try all combat abilities, just various buffs in the Lobby.

Rank II are available for FTP toon that bought the Spell Rank Increase for 750 daybreak cash. When he memmed the Rank II scroll it gave the message about replacing it in spellbook and the icon on his spell bar for that spell changed from basic spell to the Rank II. Upon cast, the buff was Rank II. He is FTP, no sub and no Krono active.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 16, 2019
RedCents
276¢
That's crazy! I play on test so that thought never even crossed my mind that you can mem rank II spells but not be able to use them. Interesting.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
RedCents
610¢
Rank II are available for FTP toon that bought the Spell Rank Increase for 750 daybreak cash. When he memmed the Rank II scroll it gave the message about replacing it in spellbook and the icon on his spell bar for that spell changed from basic spell to the Rank II. Upon cast, the buff was Rank II. He is FTP, no sub and no Krono active.
Just to clarify you do not have to be gold to scribe the Rank II ? You can do it while your Silver/F2P so long as you purchase the unlocker it will also let you SCRIBE the RK II? I understand about casting RK II but wonder about clarification on description about Scribing. So basically your FTP guy scribed while free? But he's a warrior - they have spells?:confused:

:)
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
RedCents
9,402¢
Yes FTP can scribe and cast rank II. That was tested on two diff toons.

Druid was FTP, no active sub. Bought the 750 daybreak cash unlocker option. I converted an RoS clawed rune to a couple Rk II spells and druid had no issues memming the scrolls. Got the message about replacing my spells in spell book. It also changed the icon on his spellbar automatically as I had one of the spells on the bar already. Cast the spell and it gave me the Rk II buff icon.

Warrior was Gold, he's a tank so he had augs/prestige and had already memmed Rank II combat abilities like Warrior's Bastion Rk II and Field Champion Rk II. He happened to have his Krono worn off, so I could test his stuff. All his buttons still say Rk II and if I open his combat abilities menu it lists all the stuff I've upgraded to Rk II. So you think he's going to use those, but when I press the button it always casts the Rank I basic version.
 

Sum1

Diehard is a christmas movie
Joined
Jul 30, 2006
RedCents
3,983¢
I like to do this on all my toons, if they have the DPG cash laying around anyway. There isn't much from the marketplace that I need or want anymore, so the Rk II stuff is super good.
 
Top