• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Change the look. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

Question - First Box Group (1 Viewer)

RedCents
10¢
Greetings,
I am new to RedGuides and, well, new to boxing period. Last time I did anything close to boxing, I was 13 and getting my face pounded in at school....but I digress.

I have decided on a SK, CLR, BRD, BST, ZER, ?? build. I was wondering what you would recommend for that last spot? I do know another ZER would be optimal, DPS wise, but I would like to avoid doubling up on any classes right now. Since it is a heavy melee group already, would another melee like rogue/monk be overkill? Maybe some caster DPS would be best to vary the damage type?

I want to add that this will be 2 All Access accounts used on the SK and ZER, 1 silver account that I haven't decided who will get, and 3 free accounts. Any suggestion on the silver account would be great as well.

Thanks,
Cyrus

Rogue - Hit chance aura, poisons for other melee. Very good DPS in general for a melee group.

Ranger - Actually gives you a lot of stacking atk/dps boosts for group. Besides melee/bow, they do quite a bit of dmg via nukes/dots so you'd have an alternate source of damage on melee resistant or damage shielded Named. Those aren't super common though.

Monk - Very good DPS, but tend to eat through their endurance faster than other melee types. Not as much synergy as the other choices, but does give a defensive aura to your tank.

Mage - Good DPS and like a half-melee due to pets. Their pet gets all the proc/haste/atk bonuses from bard. Their high DPS swarm pets can get overhaste/flurry bonuses from bard's aura. Downside is they're a little slower on mana regen compared to other nukers. Mage also doesn't provide much synergy as they boost other nukers, though you'd get pet gear for BST.