• IS THIS SITE UGLY? Click "RG3" at the very bottom-left of this page to change it. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

Tech - EQ Login Failing when MQ2 Loaded

Joined
Aug 7, 2015
Likes
16
RedCents
156¢
#1
Here is the error I am getting - anyone else experience this?
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:02 2019]00443:D3DXCreateTextureFromFileEx() failed to create texture flare.dds for particle system.
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01156:Exception in RunGame GameLoop Code = c0000005 ADDR=0042D7DE
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01157:EAX=2181018c EBX=7e779788 ECX=39e4ec40 EDX=2906fc80
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01158:ESI=39e4ec40 EDI=00000001 EBP=019fd2b0 ESP=019fd28c
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01159:process was trying to READ invalid data.
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01160:Invalid access occurred at virtual address 0xbfe8f300.
 

Sicprofundus

#Can'tStop #Won'tStop
Moderator
Joined
May 5, 2016
Likes
1,108
RedCents
5,176¢
#2
Here is the error I am getting - anyone else experience this?
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:02 2019]00443:D3DXCreateTextureFromFileEx() failed to create texture flare.dds for particle system.
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01156:Exception in RunGame GameLoop Code = c0000005 ADDR=0042D7DE
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01157:EAX=2181018c EBX=7e779788 ECX=39e4ec40 EDX=2906fc80
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01158:ESI=39e4ec40 EDI=00000001 EBP=019fd2b0 ESP=019fd28c
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01159:process was trying to READ invalid data.
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01160:Invalid access occurred at virtual address 0xbfe8f300.
so doing some searches it on result said itis an issue with everquest 'actor effects' file - maybe delete the folder and run everquest launcher to redownload and see if that fix's the problem. Those are just particle effects.

another mentioned bad drivers / direct x version

I'd start there - and i'd also do the validate game assets thing

1565408712939.png
 

Sicprofundus

#Can'tStop #Won'tStop
Moderator
Joined
May 5, 2016
Likes
1,108
RedCents
5,176¢
#3
Here is the error I am getting - anyone else experience this?
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:02 2019]00443:D3DXCreateTextureFromFileEx() failed to create texture flare.dds for particle system.
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01156:Exception in RunGame GameLoop Code = c0000005 ADDR=0042D7DE
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01157:EAX=2181018c EBX=7e779788 ECX=39e4ec40 EDX=2906fc80
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01158:ESI=39e4ec40 EDI=00000001 EBP=019fd2b0 ESP=019fd28c
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01159:process was trying to READ invalid data.
[Fri Aug 09 23:20:06 2019]01160:Invalid access occurred at virtual address 0xbfe8f300.
and just to respond specifically to your thread title --- does this mean you are not having this issue when mq2 is not loaded?
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2015
Likes
16
RedCents
156¢
#5
Working on what you said.
Deleted the Actors File - Nothing changed
Did Validate Assets - No Issues
Look at the Drivers / DX now
 

Sicprofundus

#Can'tStop #Won'tStop
Moderator
Joined
May 5, 2016
Likes
1,108
RedCents
5,176¢
#6
Yes, and even more mind boggling, is its only the one toon!
hrm, well that could be useful.

I would delete any ui information for that character from your everquest folder.

we've seen some other stuff recently with zones causing issues with UI settings file.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2015
Likes
16
RedCents
156¢
#8
Alright - deleting the UI File for that Toon allowed EQ to load thanks much - sucks but I guess I will have to rebuild all my hot keys etc
 

Sicprofundus

#Can'tStop #Won'tStop
Moderator
Joined
May 5, 2016
Likes
1,108
RedCents
5,176¢
#9
Alright - deleting the UI File for that Toon allowed EQ to load thanks much - sucks but I guess I will have to rebuild all my hot keys etc
well if you use the same hotkeys on another toon you could try loading that toon's stuff.

but glad you're back up and running
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Likes
80
RedCents
895¢
#10
Alright - deleting the UI File for that Toon allowed EQ to load thanks much - sucks but I guess I will have to rebuild all my hot keys etc
If you have a backup of that corrupted file I would very much like a look at it. Just putting my own through an ini parser highlighted some serious issues .
 

eqmule

MQ2 Lead Dev
Moderator
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Likes
442
RedCents
20,387¢
#12
This is the exact sane crash everyone has when the first chat tab is not main chat. It’s a known bug has nothing at all to do with mq2
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Likes
80
RedCents
895¢
#13
It was my UI file for EQ - that is what you are looking for?
Actually both files.

What I found so far, if you created a hotbutton from AA that had a newline in it then the ini can become corrupted
e.g
Bestial
Fury

In the ini Page1Button1=Bestial\nFury

But sometime when it rewrites it on game exit you get
Page1Button1=Bestial<weird character>
Page2Button2=/hidecorpse
etc
Page1Button10=/follow
Fury

Trying to find a set of file that causes a crash. Hopefully fixing the above error fixes the crash. Then can submit to devs.
Alas people are so used to just wiping .ini files and doing the setup again that this is proving challenging to reproduce.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2015
Likes
16
RedCents
156¢
#14
That sounds right now that you say the EQMule - I couldn't figure out why randomly out of nowhere my stuff was crashing. But now reading your response. I did change so that main Chat isn't first - I put another tab to show first.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2014
Likes
13
RedCents
211¢
#15
The problem apparently with with your <yourname>_<servername>.ini file. Its been causing lot of people to crash.

It should contain lines like:
[HotButtons1]
Page1Button10=P55035,@-1,0000000000000000,0,Ability Rk. III,
Page1Button11=P40029,@-1,0000000000000000,0,Ability Rk. III

If it has anything other than sections like the above example it could cause your toon to crash or not load.
 
Top