• You've discovered RedGuides 📕 an EverQuest multi-boxing community 🛡️🧙🗡️. We want you to play several EQ characters at once, come join us and say hello! 👋
  • IS THIS SITE UGLY? Change the look. To dismiss this notice, click the X --->

Tech - Building a new rig! (1 Viewer)

Coinstop

BANNED
RedCents
1,149¢
I'm treating myself to something nice-ish and build up a new rig!
I just ordered an X Sniper 2 case and have a Corsair CX750M power supply off to the side that's brand new.

Anyone know a decent cost efficient motherboard/cpu combo? (around $300-400 or less)
Also any suggestions on video? (around $100 or less)

Been out of the hardware game for the past 2-3 years.. which is basically an eternity.
Ive seen some awesome threads on here in the past, so knew exactly who to turn to!
What parts would you grab with that budget?

Thanks!

What are you wanting it to all do? Im no expert but have been looking around a bit as well and $100 is kinda low for a graphics card

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk

Just typical gaming. Nothing crazy, Evil Within, Overwatch, EQ, CS:Go, KF2, ect.
I do run a decent number of EQ accounts , but that's not as much video heavy as cpu/ram.

Video wise I was looking at ATI Radeon HD 7670 4GB which is around $75
or Sapphire NITRO RX460 4GB Which is about $125
Would I be a wrong to assume that would fit my needs?

I personally would not go AMD. I'd consider the gtx 1060 over the RX460. It is about $25 more expensive on the 3 gb version. I think you'll be more satisfied especially playing Overwatch.

Do you run a 1080p resolution? Then the 3gb of vid ram is plenty. If you run at a higher resolution then 1080p consider the 6gb version.

Consider more cores for EQ if you play alot of accounts on one comp -

A 6-core Intel processor and 6 core or 8 core AMD (marketing tactic) is no where in the ball-park same because of IPC (instructions per cycle) differences. Even a 4 core Intel is significantly better than an AMD cpu.